top of page
  • Writer's picturemalensoltyskb8735

Why Did Etsy Shut Down This “Pro-Black, Anti-Bullshit” Shop?

Update: On Monday, Olatiwa Karade, the owner of the pro-Black Etsy store Splendid Rain Co., which offers tops emblazoned with sayings like “Don't Touch Me, Don’t Touch My Hair, Don't Touch My Culture” and “Your Founding Fathers Owned Slaves,” announced on Instagram that the e-retailer had shut her shop down. “Etsy has been intent on making this hard for me since I received so much attention,” she wrote on Tuesday.

“If you have a pending order it is still being processed. No new orders can be placed at this time. I am grateful for your patience and understanding. I just can’t win.” Karade added, noting that her store had been reinstated for the time being as long as you have a direct link (her store is not appearing in Etsy’s search results). For those looking to buy one of Karade's politically-charged pieces, she says she's considering moving her company to "an independent domain," saying she's "absolutely sick of the way Etsy has handled my store."


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page