top of page
  • Writer's picturemalensoltyskb8735

SLAM Presents DUKE Special Collector’s Issue is OUT NOW!


History. Legacy. Longevity. Tradition.


I live by these four words in my own career. Whether I am teaching, deejaying, making

beats or even working with basketball, these are foundational to everything I do. Throughout life and experience, I have admired, revered, supported and studied people and institutions that believe in those same pillars and that same sturdy foundation. Those ideals are what lead me to Duke Men’s Basketball.


Why Duke Men’s Basketball, you ask?


As an African American, I’ve had to answer for many years. Any university can be judged simply by the sports team, especially by race. As a kid, I thought that Georgetown was a Black school, due to what I saw on my television set. It even became a fashion statement in hip-hop itself (thanks, Chuck D).


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page