top of page
  • Writer's picturemalensoltyskb8735

REWIND: Four wildly inappropriate songs for Easter… and Johnny Cash


In three of the last four years (as I explained in one of them, I was a bit preoccupied in 2020) I’ve attempted to find secular Easter songs that were appropriate but not especially likely to offend anyone. Like I’ve repeatedly said, I usually try to respect people’s religious beliefs.


The conclusion from those 14 songs (I managed to include “White Rabbit” twice due to poor research; I am a professional journalist) is that there aren’t really many appropriate, non-secular Easter songs. On the one hand, that poses a problem for me because tomorrow it’s Easter again and I need to write a column. But on the other hand, this is a good time for alternate solutions, because it’s been a very long and exhausting week and my better nature is the first thing to go when I get tired.


What I’m saying is that Easter, in essence, is about someone rising from the grave. So at the risk of doing a massive blasphemy, here are some songs about the undead.


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page