top of page
  • Writer's picturemalensoltyskb8735

It’s camo season in the Midwest


I did not grow up in a serious hunting family, but I married into one. Early on, I learned that for hardcore hunters, the time between October and December is sacrosanct. And for true devotees, the rituals of the season start much earlier: getting licenses in order, target practice, and shopping for gear – all in a cloud of camouflage.


For years, I have been mystified by the appeal of camo. When my bow hunter husband bought me a puffy camo print winter coat many years ago, I rolled my eyes and stuffed it in the closet. Not my style.But now camo is ubiquitous in the Midwest. Enter any sporting goods store or superstore, and it’s like walking into camo-land. The familiar khaki and olive patterns appear on clothing, hunting gear, coolers, sheets, blankets and even furniture. And it’s not just for hunters. Cars, trucks, all terrain vehicles, and children’s bikes are wrapped in camo, and women’s fashions increasingly incorporate the look in a cacophony of nontraditional colors.


I’ve always wondered why camo is so popular, so I did some digging. I discovered that whether most hunters and consumers realize it or not, camo as we know it is relatively modern and is largely a marketing phenomenon. Which got me thinking that like all fashion, camo communicates something important about who we are and our culture at large.


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page