top of page
  • Writer's picturemalensoltyskb8735

Humans of UNC Charlotte: Houston Shue, the student-artist behind 'Stepping Stone' exhibit


Throughout most of November, the Student Union Art Gallery featured an exhibit entitled "Stepping Stones." Many paintings looked familiar to students, as they depicted well-known parts of campus, such as the 49er Miner statue, but with an impressionistic twist.


Houston Shue, the student artist who created "Stepping Stones," also included vivid landscape paintings of the Badlands and Rocky Mountains National Parks.


Shue is a studio art major and is graduating this December.


Shue had never taken an art class until college, and his passion for it was surprising.


"I transferred from Wilmington," Shue said. "I started out with a biology major and chemistry minor. I took an art class, fell in love with it and completely switched over and decided to major in studio art."


"Not only have I improved painting-wise, but I've improved my eyesight – my choices," Shue said. "I like doing my own thing because I know what I want to do. I know my interests."


1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page