top of page
  • Writer's picturemalensoltyskb8735

Gay driver Zach Herrin excited for Daytona 200 with Lambda Legal as sponsor


When racing driver Zach Herrin found his truth as a young gay man, he thought he would lose the sport he loved.


This weekend, the 27-year-old Herrin will strap in at stock car racing’s biggest stage now out, proud and, hopefully, fast. And he’ll do it with LGBTQ-rights organization Lambda Legal as a lead sponsor.


Herrin will compete for a place in the ARCA Menards Series-opening ARCA Daytona 200 starting with qualifying on Friday afternoon. If he’s fast enough, he will contest the Saturday afternoon 200-mile race.


“I always had this thing in the back of my mind, even with I was struggling with my personal identity, ‘Will I ever race again?’,” Herrin said in an interview on the Trans Sporter Room podcast Wednesday. “To find myself back here putting the pieces together to make an effort to make this career again and giving this 150% effort to make this a career again? It’s wild.”


0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page