top of page
  • Writer's picturemalensoltyskb8735

ASH AND JOHNNY CASH


I don’t always turn to music stars for spiritual nourishment, but when I do, I turn toward Johnny Cash. A few years ago, I had the privilege of visiting the Johnny Cash Museum in Nashville, Tennessee, which I highly recommend. Besides learning so much about his varied career as a musician and as an actor, at the very end of the tour I was exposed to a music video that is the crown jewel of it all.


This music video is for “Hurt,” originally by Nine Inch Nails. The video for Johnny’s cover was filmed in 2003 and it quickly gained accolades and praise, with some even calling it the best music video of all time. I’m inclined to agree — it is incredibly powerful as it flashes through images of his life and career. We see images of Johnny in his prime, but we also see the “closed to public” sign on the derelict House of Cash Museum in Hendersonville, Tennessee, with cracked platinum records inside.


0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page